Tags

While on Instagram attempting to post a picture of my most recent bike race I noticed a difficulty keeping my caption short. As I try to keep my words few on Instagram it seemed like a more obvious blog post was necessary. So here we have it … Race Report . Art blog, now also bike blog.

My racing interest began June 1, 2014 with the completion of my first bike challenge, Americas Most Beautiful Bike Ride (AMBBR), a century (100 mile) ride around Lake Tahoe. I signed up with Team In Training, an awesome organization that trains participants for endurance sports in exchange for fundraising to support blood cancer research. Over the course of four months my team slowly increasing in endurance during weekend rides starting at 15 miles, then 25 miles, 35 miles, until we hit 75 miles. The day of AMBBR I woke with immeasurable anticipation. It was magic and hard work all in one. Breathtaking views of the lake, thousands of riders, and almost 7 hours of saddle time. It was in the truest sense … epic.

AMBBR

Yes, that is a wine glass (plastic don’t worry) on my helmet. As part of the North Bay chapter we had to represent Sonoma/Napa wine country. They called it our ‘GPS’ so my other teammate could spot me riding in the crowd. Oh, yeah!

So there I was, post 100 mile ride, back at my hotel floating in the pool, and I noticed something had awakened in me … a fire in my belly (to quote Joe De Sena). I had the realization that I could focus on a far off goal, commit, put in the hard work, and complete what I set my mind to. “I am capable”, a simple statement, however for me it was a huge mental hurdle over the more frequent thoughts of self-doubt. I have dreams, damn it! So there I was, my first bike challenge done and a hunger for more. But more what? I’ve experienced endurance, now I wanted speed. Speed? Like racing? No way, couldn’t be for me. I mean, it’s too dangerous, I’m not fit enough and I would have no idea what I’m doing. Sounds like a challenge … a challenge! Well, challenged excepted. Stay tuned friends cause the RACE … IS … ON!

